Welsh Rugby

Rugby Union has been a fixture, and a part of Wales since the game was first played in the early nineteenth century. Although the sport was first popular with colleges many clubs have be formed around the country ranging from teams that compete in recreational settings to ones that compete in the professional ranks. Today the game has evolved to where it is played competitively in every corner of Wales.

Rugby in Wales is  governed by the Welsh Rugby Union (WRU). Since 1881 the WRU has worked as the main controlling body of all clubs in the country. This includes the operation of all leagues in the country and the support for the development of the sport among men and women of all ages.

There are eight divisions of competition that are operated by the WRU. These leagues are ones that feature several teams in each league with the highest level of competition being in the Magners League. Some teams in these divisions have played in various major international competitions including the Heineken Cup, the EDF Energy Cup and the European Challenge Cup.

Four teams in the Magners League are based in Wales. These clubs are the Cardiff Blues, Newport Gwent Dragons, the Neath Swansea Ospreys and the Llanelli Scarlets. They compete in this league that includes six other teams from Ireland and Scotland.

Wales also has its own national team. It competes in the Six Nations Championship each year and has won the event’s championship twenty-four times. The team also competes in the Rugby World Cup every four years.